City Hall
339 Washington St.
Prophetstown, IL 61277

City Hall is open daily Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. Closed for lunch from 12 p.m. to 1 p.m.  Prophetstown is governed by an elected mayor and six-member council. The city is divided into three wards with two council members representing each ward for four-year terms. The city council meets monthly (on the second Tuesday) at City Hall.

City Council Members

Ward 1:  Daryl Drennen, John Gibson
Ward 2:  Josh Hovey, Ryan Inskeep
Ward 3: Danny Baker, Greg Schmitt


Law Enforcement
339 Washington Street
Prophetstown, IL 61277
(815) 537-2386 (non-emergency)

Prophetstown Police are among the most highly trained Law Enforcement professionals. All officers (three full-time and one part-time) are state certified. The department’s three patrol vehicles are equipped with sophisticated dispatch/communications equipment allowing communication to law enforcement agencies at the local, county and state level. The department is housed at Prophetstown City Hall.

Ambulance Services
102 W. 2nd Street
Prophetstown, IL 61277
(815) 537-2215

Ambulance services are life-saving elements in any community. Prophetstown residents are fortunate to be served by 25 volunteers. Services range from basic first aid to trauma care and full life support during emergency transport. The three ambulance vehicles are housed in the same facility as the fire department.


Fire Protection
104 W 2nd Street
Prophetstown, IL 61277
(815) 537-2215

Fire protection services are provided by the Prophetstown Fire Protection District, covering 138 square miles in Whiteside and Henry, serving the communities of Prophetstown, Lyndon and Hooppole. The Prophetstown fire station is supported by 27 volunteers operating four trucks and one rescue squad vehicle.

Prophetstown Township Garage

Enterprise Zone
A variety of incentives are available to commercial and industrial projects initiated within the Whiteside County Enterprise Zone. For information on sales tax deductions, property tax abatements, investment tax credits, jobs tax credits, dividend deductions and tax exemptions, contact the Zone Administrator at (815) 772-5175 or visit the Whiteside County Courthouse, 200 East Knox, Morrison, IL 61270.

Whiteside County Offices
200 E. Knox St.

Administrator (815) 772-5100
Assessor (815) 772-5195
Circuit Clerk (815) 772-5188
County Clerk (815) 772-5189
County Collector (815) 772-5196
Coroner (815) 772-5274
Economic Development (815) 772-5175
Hwy/Public Works (815) 772-7651
Public Defender (815) 772-5191
Recorder (815) 772-5192
Sheriff (815) 772-4044
State’s Attorney (815) 772-5194
Supv. of Assessments (815) 772-5195